Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 25.01.2006 19:32:09 von Todd Patton

Does anyone know if this is possible in Linux. I can do it in M$ Win
with Nero but the NEroLinux left this feature off. Basically I want to
burn 4 copies of a folder or image at the same time. Thank you for any
responses.

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 25.01.2006 22:02:32 von Ray Olszewski

Todd Patton wrote:
> Does anyone know if this is possible in Linux. I can do it in M$ Win
> with Nero but the NEroLinux left this feature off. Basically I want to
> burn 4 copies of a folder or image at the same time. Thank you for any
> responses.

Could I ask you to explain what you want to do it a bit more detail?

Do you mean you have 4 CD burners in your workstation and want to burn
the same image to all four of them simultaneously? If so, the only
obstacle to doing that is the speeds of everything ... if the hardware
can keep up, you can do it with cdrecord (and probably other apps too).

If you mean something else ... could you describe it more exactly?

I don't use Nero (on Windows) or NeroLinux ... on Linux, I burn my CDs
with cdrecord and mkisofs, and on Windows, I use whatever app comes
free with the drive (which, by the luck of the draw, has never been the
"lite" version of Nero) ... so perhaps your question will mean more to
someone who does. If you, you might just want to ignore this and wait
for someone else to respond.

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 25.01.2006 22:12:55 von Todd Patton

I was unaware that it could be done using cd burn. I always have to
choose a recoder when using the gui front end and never see an option to
choose all recorders like in Nero.

I often have to make 20-30 copies of cd's for proposals, and was looking
to do four at a time. Speed wise, I might bring it down to 2 burners on
two machines as not to bog down the ide channels. But basically I just
want to create a basic bare bones disk duplicator. Thanks for the response!

Ray Olszewski wrote:
> Todd Patton wrote:
>
>> Does anyone know if this is possible in Linux. I can do it in M$ Win
>> with Nero but the NEroLinux left this feature off. Basically I want to
>> burn 4 copies of a folder or image at the same time. Thank you for any
>> responses.
>
>
> Could I ask you to explain what you want to do it a bit more detail?
>
> Do you mean you have 4 CD burners in your workstation and want to burn
> the same image to all four of them simultaneously? If so, the only
> obstacle to doing that is the speeds of everything ... if the hardware
> can keep up, you can do it with cdrecord (and probably other apps too).
>
> If you mean something else ... could you describe it more exactly?
>
> I don't use Nero (on Windows) or NeroLinux ... on Linux, I burn my CDs
> with cdrecord and mkisofs, and on Windows, I use whatever app comes
> free with the drive (which, by the luck of the draw, has never been the
> "lite" version of Nero) ... so perhaps your question will mean more to
> someone who does. If you, you might just want to ignore this and wait
> for someone else to respond.
>
> -
> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
> the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
> More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
> Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs
>

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 30.01.2006 14:58:41 von chuck gelm net

Todd Patton wrote:

> Does anyone know if this is possible in Linux. I can do it in M$ Win
> with Nero but the NEroLinux left this feature off. Basically I want to
> burn 4 copies of a folder or image at the same time. Thank you for any
> responses.

Hi, Todd:

Assuming that your 4 cd burners are configured as SCSI or SCSI emulation
and are channel 0, id 0, lun 0,1,2,3:

#!/bin/bash
#
# /usr/local/bin/burncd.sh
#

eject
cat /usr/local/bin/burncd.sh

echo ""
echo " First argument is <$1>."
echo "Second argument is <$2>."
echo ""

if [ -n $1 ] ; then
if [ -n $2 ] ; then
cdrecord -v dev=0,0,0 fs=64M speed=$2 driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2
$1 &
cdrecord -v dev=0,0,1 fs=64M speed=$2 driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2
$1 &
cdrecord -v dev=0,0,2 fs=64M speed=$2 driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2
$1 &
cdrecord -v dev=0,0,3 fs=64M speed=$2 driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2 $1
else
echo "Second argument is burn speed [1 - 52] and must not be null."
fi
else
echo ""
echo "First argument is filename.ext and must not be null."
echo ""
fi
eject
mount /mnt/cdrom
ls -l /mnt/cdrom
umount /mnt/cdrom
echo $1
badblocks -vc 256 /dev/cdrom
eject

HTH, Chuck

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Overwrote bootloader

am 30.01.2006 16:24:55 von i_am_sumit_kalra

Hi All,

I have a dual boot machine (Win XP and Fedora Core4)
using grub as the bootloader. The loader was working
fine for both Windows and Linux till I started playing
around with it.

I edited /etc/grub.conf and ran 'grub-install
/dev/hda8' (windows partition) instead of
'grub-install /dev/hda' so basically the Linux
bootloader has overwritten the Windows boot loader.
Realizing my mistake, I ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'.

If from the main grub screen I choose 'Linux', I can
boot into Linux but if I choose 'Windows' I get to the
same bootloader again.

Another problem, I can't mount the windows partition
(NTFS) since FC4 apparently doesn't support it.

Can I, in anyway, recover the Windows bootloader?

Thanks,
Sumit



___________________________________________________________
To help you stay safe and secure online, we've developed the all new Yahoo! Security Centre. http://uk.security.yahoo.com
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

RE: Overwrote bootloader

am 30.01.2006 16:32:14 von David.Meyer07

Don't panic...this one is easy...

If you have the Windows XP CD, run the recovery module and it will fix
the bootloader.

HOWEVER, you can also stick with a Linux boot loader. I have been
dual-booting my work laptop for three years now using a varied array of
distros. I have not used the Windows bootloader since 2003. If you
install Linux (as you have found out) it will find your Windows
partition and bring that option up to you so you can once again run both
OS's.

Dave

-----Original Message-----
From: linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org
[mailto:linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org] On Behalf Of sumit kalra
Sent: Monday, January 30, 2006 10:25 AM
To: linux-newbie@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Overwrote bootloader

Hi All,

I have a dual boot machine (Win XP and Fedora Core4) using grub as the
bootloader. The loader was working fine for both Windows and Linux till
I started playing around with it.

I edited /etc/grub.conf and ran 'grub-install /dev/hda8' (windows
partition) instead of 'grub-install /dev/hda' so basically the Linux
bootloader has overwritten the Windows boot loader.
Realizing my mistake, I ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'.

If from the main grub screen I choose 'Linux', I can boot into Linux but
if I choose 'Windows' I get to the same bootloader again.

Another problem, I can't mount the windows partition
(NTFS) since FC4 apparently doesn't support it.

Can I, in anyway, recover the Windows bootloader?

Thanks,
Sumit



___________________________________________________________
To help you stay safe and secure online, we've developed the all new
Yahoo! Security Centre. http://uk.security.yahoo.com
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie"
in the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org More majordomo
info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Overwrote bootloader

am 30.01.2006 16:36:40 von Paul

On 1/30/06, sumit kalra wrote:
> Hi All,
>
> I have a dual boot machine (Win XP and Fedora Core4)
> using grub as the bootloader. The loader was working
> fine for both Windows and Linux till I started playing
> around with it.
>
> I edited /etc/grub.conf and ran 'grub-install
> /dev/hda8' (windows partition) instead of
> 'grub-install /dev/hda' so basically the Linux
> bootloader has overwritten the Windows boot loader.
> Realizing my mistake, I ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'.
>
> If from the main grub screen I choose 'Linux', I can
> boot into Linux but if I choose 'Windows' I get to the
> same bootloader again.

If you boot off the windows cd you might be able to use the "automatic
recovery mode". MS might have more info on reinstalling their
bootloader on their website.

> Another problem, I can't mount the windows partition
> (NTFS) since FC4 apparently doesn't support it.

The Linux-NTFS project (http://linux-ntfs.org/) has kernel modules
that can be installed so you can mount NTFS read-only. Currently there
are two write modes available. There is the half-working-but-safe
mode. This lets you do a few simple file operations. The other mode is
"experimental". You can perform all operations but there is a chance
that it will hose your entire file system.
-Paul

>
> Can I, in anyway, recover the Windows bootloader?
>
> Thanks,
> Sumit
>
>
>
> ___________________________________________________________
> To help you stay safe and secure online, we've developed the all new Yahoo! Security Centre. http://uk.security.yahoo.com
> -
> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
> the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
> More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
> Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs
>
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

RE: Overwrote bootloader

am 30.01.2006 16:44:31 von i_am_sumit_kalra

Hi Digz,

Thanks for your mail.


--- Digvijoy Chatterjee
wrote:
> First of all I don't understand , how you could get
> Windows to /dev/hda8 because Windows always installs
> on /dev/hda1 after
Ooops, it was on hda1. Sorry for the confusion.

> try getting a DOS boot floppy which contains the
> DOS boot loader ,and boot windows of it ,and see if
> you NT Loader is safe ,if your NT Loader got
corrupted then,
> using a Windows recovery CD should help
I don't have a floppy drive. But if Windows backs up
the boot-loader somewhere then I can read it using the
NTFS module and dd it to /dev/hda1. Does this sound
good? If yes, then any idea where is the boot loader
stored by XP? I'll also try thr Windows recovery CD
approach.

> To mount NTFS partitions you have to install the
> NTFS rpm for your
> kernel version , ,or you have to build the NTFS
> module from the kernel
> source tree and insmod/modprobe it ./
I'll search the RPM and install it.

Thanks again.
Sumit

> -----Original Message-----
> From: linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org
> [mailto:linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org] On
> Behalf Of sumit kalra
> Sent: Monday, January 30, 2006 8:55 PM
> To: linux-newbie@vger.kernel.org
> Subject: Overwrote bootloader
>
> Hi All,
>
> I have a dual boot machine (Win XP and Fedora Core4)
> using grub as the bootloader. The loader was working
> fine for both Windows and Linux till I started
> playing
> around with it.
>
> I edited /etc/grub.conf and ran 'grub-install
> /dev/hda8' (windows partition) instead of
> 'grub-install /dev/hda' so basically the Linux
> bootloader has overwritten the Windows boot loader.
> Realizing my mistake, I ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'.
>
> If from the main grub screen I choose 'Linux', I can
> boot into Linux but if I choose 'Windows' I get to
> the
> same bootloader again.
>
> Another problem, I can't mount the windows partition
> (NTFS) since FC4 apparently doesn't support it.
>
> Can I, in anyway, recover the Windows bootloader?
>
> Thanks,
> Sumit





___________________________________________________________
Yahoo! Messenger - NEW crystal clear PC to PC calling worldwide with voicemail http://uk.messenger.yahoo.com
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

RE: Overwrote bootloader

am 30.01.2006 16:48:25 von i_am_sumit_kalra

Hi Dave,


--- "Meyer, David R" wrote:
> Don't panic...this one is easy...
>
> If you have the Windows XP CD, run the recovery
> module and it will fix
> the bootloader.
Will try this.

> since 2003. If you
> install Linux (as you have found out) it will find
> your Windows
> partition and bring that option up to you so you can
> once again run both OS's.
This didn't work since I had overwritten the Windows
boot-loader on /dev/hda1.

Thanks,
Sumit

> -----Original Message-----
> From: linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org
> [mailto:linux-newbie-owner@vger.kernel.org] On
> Behalf Of sumit kalra
> Sent: Monday, January 30, 2006 10:25 AM
> To: linux-newbie@vger.kernel.org
> Subject: Overwrote bootloader
>
> Hi All,
>
> I have a dual boot machine (Win XP and Fedora Core4)
> using grub as the
> bootloader. The loader was working fine for both
> Windows and Linux till
> I started playing around with it.
>
> I edited /etc/grub.conf and ran 'grub-install
> /dev/hda8' (windows
> partition) instead of 'grub-install /dev/hda' so
> basically the Linux
> bootloader has overwritten the Windows boot loader.
> Realizing my mistake, I ran 'grub-install /dev/hda'.
>
> If from the main grub screen I choose 'Linux', I can
> boot into Linux but
> if I choose 'Windows' I get to the same bootloader
> again.
>
> Another problem, I can't mount the windows partition
> (NTFS) since FC4 apparently doesn't support it.
>
> Can I, in anyway, recover the Windows bootloader?
>
> Thanks,
> Sumit



___________________________________________________________
Win a BlackBerry device from O2 with Yahoo!. Enter now. http://www.yahoo.co.uk/blackberry
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 31.01.2006 03:49:26 von chuck gelm net

Chuck I keep getting an error on the last line syntax error: unexpected end
of file

I tried adding "exit" to the script but it didn't change the error. -Just
moved the line number down one.

The arguments print correctly,
First argument is filename
Second argument is speed

It does indicate that you entered

"burncd.sh filename speed"

Whereas you should have entered something like

"burncd.sh badabing.iso 52"

:-| >


however there is no action on the cd drives.

I checked the numbers with cdrecord -scanbus and made the approriate
changes.



Any ideas? Fedora 4

/Todd

Hi, Todd:

You must be root or 'sudo root' :-|

Show the exact command.
What is the output of
cdrecord -version
cerecord -scanbus

There are some linefeeds in your post that should not be in the script.
They may have been generated by my email viewer. :-|
"cdrecord -v dev=0,0,0 fs=64M speed=$2 driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2 $1 &"
is one line.

What are you entering as the first argument?
What are you entering as the secord argument?

You can leave out the speed argument from the script as I think cdrecord
will attempt to burn at the maximum speed reported from the CDRW device.

You can leave out 'gracetime'. This will result in the default wait time
before burn.

If burncd.sh is in your path, your command should look something like this

burncd.sh yabadabadoo.iso 52



HTH, Chuck



-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 01.02.2006 14:20:39 von chuck gelm net

Todd Patton wrote:

> Does anyone know if this is possible in Linux. I can do it in M$ Win
> with Nero but the NEroLinux left this feature off. Basically I want to
> burn 4 copies of a folder or image at the same time. Thank you for any
> responses.
>
George Ewing wrote:

>Is Linux able to utilize multiple CD or DVD drives to burn multiple copies of
>the same iso file at the same time?
>
>If so, how?
>
>Thanks
>
>George
>
>
Hi, Todd:

(Your query was very similar to a recent one on the linux-sig@dma.org
mail list.
Subject: [Linux-SIG] multiple CD burner)

Yes. I did it last night. Here is what I have and what I did.
Slackware v10.2, kernel 2.4.31, (cdrecord seems to be a soft link to
Cdrecord-Clone v2.01 by J. Schilling) Linux sg driver version 3.1.25.

I have a CD-RW(52x) in /dev/hdc and a DVD-RW(CD-40x) in /dev/hdd.
Both use SCSI emulation initiated in lilo.conf as
append="hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi".

cdrecord -scanbus
0,0,0 CD-RW
0,1,0 DVD-RW

ln -s /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom
ln -s /dev/sr1 /mnt/dvd

/#!/bin/bash/
/#/
/# /usr/local/bin/burn2xcd.sh/
/#/

eject /dev/sr0
eject /dev/sr1

*cat* /usr/local/bin/burn2xcd.sh

**** *cdrecord* -eject dev=0,0,0 fs=64M driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2 $1 *>* /home/sr0.txt *&*
*cdrecord* -eject dev=0,1,0 fs=64M driveropts=burnproof gracetime=2 $1 *>* /home/sr1.txt
//

# end /usr/local/bin/burn2xcd.sh

First burn was from a 618MB file over my 100 MB network with 'speed=24'
specified on both commands. It took nearly 20 minutes with a reported
speed of 3.6x. :-|

Next, I removed the speed specification and copied the ISO file to a
local drive.
'burn2xcd.sh' then displayed burning the CD at 48x and the (CD in the)
DVD at 40x .
Although the CD burn was started in the first line and the DVD drive in
the second and
the CD speed was 48x and the DVD 40x, the DVD finished first. :-|
I did not find the exact time elapsed, but it seemed to be in the 5-10
minute range.

To decrease the elapsed time of the media burn, one might put each
media writer
on a separate controller (I have some Maxtor/Promise ATA-100 and ATA-133
IDE controllers) and put copies of the ISO images on separate drives on
separate
controllers. Best might be putting the ISO image(s) in a RAMDISK! ;-)

If you simply want to make as many copies as you have controllers at
one time
and come back hours later, just leave of the "&" and let the commands run
one at a time.

If you are to copy as fast as possible and stay with the computer to
exchange media,
then perhaps multiple consoles, one for each drive, with the ISO image
in RAMDISK,
and the writers on separate controllers.

HTH, Chuck

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs

Re: Burn Mulitple cd"s at once?

am 01.02.2006 17:31:03 von chuck gelm net

Todd wrote:

>
>
>

>What does "cdrecord -scanbus" show?
>
>Chuck
>
>
Todd:

(1)
What does
cdrecord -scanbus
display?

I am confused by your use of:

dev=ATAPI:0,1,0

Where does it say that cdrecord uses an ATAPI device?
I thought cdrecord expects to write to a SCSI device!!!

(2)
You do not need to preceed the script (burncd.sh) with 'sh '

if the script (burncd.sh) is 'executable' (and in your $PATH).

Else, if not executable, remove the #!/bin/bash and preceed the command
with 'sh '.

What is the 'path-to' and filename of the ISO?
/home/username/filename.iso ?????
Is your ISO file name really 'filename.iso' ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

(3)
Is your default shell 'bash' ?
Are you 'root' ?

(4)
Show the exact command line.
Show the exact error message.
Show the exact path and filename of the ISO file.


Chuck

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-newbie" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.linux-learn.org/faqs