VB Function to return array to ASP
VB Function to return array to ASP
am 22.03.2007 21:25:59 von raj
I need a VB function to return array of collections like
Private Type Employee
empname as string
address as string
salary as integer
deptno as integer
End Type
dim employees() as Employee
Public Function getEmployees() as Employee()
getEmployees=employees
End Function
I will call that function in ASP.
This was not working any other method is welcomed.
Regards,
Raj.
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 23.03.2007 00:43:48 von raj
Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
Here's what I did:
Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
Employee:
Public empname As String
Public address As String
Public salary As Integer
Public deptno As Integer
Company:
Dim employess() As Employee
Dim mlCount As Long
Public Property Get Count() As Long
Count = mlCount
End Property
I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
Private Sub Command1_Click()
Dim cmp1 As New Company
cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
Print cmp1.Count
End Sub
Then I got a compile error at:
Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
Set Item = employees(Index)
End Property
Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
It seems I am missing something.
Please let me know.
Thank you very much.
Regards,
Raj.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Anthony Jones"
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.inetserver.asp.general
Sent: Friday, March 23, 2007 4:32 AM
Subject: Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:elhHDhRbHHA.208@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> I need a VB function to return array of collections like
>>
>> Private Type Employee
>> empname as string
>> address as string
>> salary as integer
>> deptno as integer
>> End Type
>>
>> dim employees() as Employee
>>
>> Public Function getEmployees() as Employee()
>> getEmployees=employees
>> End Function
>>
>> I will call that function in ASP.
>>
>> This was not working any other method is welcomed.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Raj.
>>
>
> First off the code above doesn't compile. You can't expose a private type
> as a return value of a public member. You would need make the Employee
> type
> public to get it to compile. Unfortunately that still doesn't help a
> great
> deal with ASP.
>
> ASP only has one data type, the variant (or two if you count an array of
> variants as a type). Now whilst it is possible to re-arrange the VB code
> to
> pass a reference to User-Defined type into a variant and thus into
> VBScript
> you can't access the members of the type. The VBScript parsing doesn't
> allow for the 'type.member' notation to work both for objects and for UDTs
> as it does in VB6.
>
> If the ASP merely needs to hold reference to a type that is passed to
> another component then that is possible as long as appropriate measures
> are
> taken to ensure the interfaces are compatible with Script in this way
> (I.E.
> takes a variant ByRef).
>
> If you need the ASP code to be able to access the members of the type then
> you will need to use a class instead:-
>
> 'Class Employee
> Public empname as string
> Public address as string
> Public salary as integer
> Public deptno as integer
>
>
> 'Your class
>
> Dim employees() as Variant ' Actuall contains employess objects
>
> Public Function getEmployees() As Variant
> getEmployees = employees
> End Public
>
> However that can get expensive. It may be better to turn your class into
> a
> form of a collection. E.g.,
>
> Dim employess() as Employee
> Dim mlCount as Long
>
> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
> Set Item = employees(Index)
> End Property
>
> Public Property Get Count() as Long
> Count = mlCount
> End Property
>
>
>
>
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:Ot%23by4SbHHA.1216@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:elhHDhRbHHA.208@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> I need a VB function to return array of collections like
>>
>> Private Type Employee
>> empname as string
>> address as string
>> salary as integer
>> deptno as integer
>> End Type
>>
>> dim employees() as Employee
>>
>> Public Function getEmployees() as Employee()
>> getEmployees=employees
>> End Function
>>
>> I will call that function in ASP.
>>
>> This was not working any other method is welcomed.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Raj.
>>
>
> First off the code above doesn't compile. You can't expose a private type
> as a return value of a public member. You would need make the Employee
> type
> public to get it to compile. Unfortunately that still doesn't help a
> great
> deal with ASP.
>
> ASP only has one data type, the variant (or two if you count an array of
> variants as a type). Now whilst it is possible to re-arrange the VB code
> to
> pass a reference to User-Defined type into a variant and thus into
> VBScript
> you can't access the members of the type. The VBScript parsing doesn't
> allow for the 'type.member' notation to work both for objects and for UDTs
> as it does in VB6.
>
> If the ASP merely needs to hold reference to a type that is passed to
> another component then that is possible as long as appropriate measures
> are
> taken to ensure the interfaces are compatible with Script in this way
> (I.E.
> takes a variant ByRef).
>
> If you need the ASP code to be able to access the members of the type then
> you will need to use a class instead:-
>
> 'Class Employee
> Public empname as string
> Public address as string
> Public salary as integer
> Public deptno as integer
>
>
> 'Your class
>
> Dim employees() as Variant ' Actuall contains employess objects
>
> Public Function getEmployees() As Variant
> getEmployees = employees
> End Public
>
> However that can get expensive. It may be better to turn your class into
> a
> form of a collection. E.g.,
>
> Dim employess() as Employee
> Dim mlCount as Long
>
> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
> Set Item = employees(Index)
> End Property
>
> Public Property Get Count() as Long
> Count = mlCount
> End Property
>
>
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 23.03.2007 10:32:36 von Anthony Jones
"Raj" wrote in message
news:elhHDhRbHHA.208@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
> I need a VB function to return array of collections like
>
> Private Type Employee
> empname as string
> address as string
> salary as integer
> deptno as integer
> End Type
>
> dim employees() as Employee
>
> Public Function getEmployees() as Employee()
> getEmployees=employees
> End Function
>
> I will call that function in ASP.
>
> This was not working any other method is welcomed.
>
> Regards,
>
> Raj.
>
First off the code above doesn't compile. You can't expose a private type
as a return value of a public member. You would need make the Employee type
public to get it to compile. Unfortunately that still doesn't help a great
deal with ASP.
ASP only has one data type, the variant (or two if you count an array of
variants as a type). Now whilst it is possible to re-arrange the VB code to
pass a reference to User-Defined type into a variant and thus into VBScript
you can't access the members of the type. The VBScript parsing doesn't
allow for the 'type.member' notation to work both for objects and for UDTs
as it does in VB6.
If the ASP merely needs to hold reference to a type that is passed to
another component then that is possible as long as appropriate measures are
taken to ensure the interfaces are compatible with Script in this way (I.E.
takes a variant ByRef).
If you need the ASP code to be able to access the members of the type then
you will need to use a class instead:-
'Class Employee
Public empname as string
Public address as string
Public salary as integer
Public deptno as integer
'Your class
Dim employees() as Variant ' Actuall contains employess objects
Public Function getEmployees() As Variant
getEmployees = employees
End Public
However that can get expensive. It may be better to turn your class into a
form of a collection. E.g.,
Dim employess() as Employee
Dim mlCount as Long
Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
Set Item = employees(Index)
End Property
Public Property Get Count() as Long
Count = mlCount
End Property
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 23.03.2007 12:45:35 von Anthony Jones
"Raj" wrote in message
news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
>
> Here's what I did:
>
> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
>
> Employee:
> Public empname As String
> Public address As String
> Public salary As Integer
> Public deptno As Integer
>
> Company:
> Dim employess() As Employee
> Dim mlCount As Long
>
> Public Property Get Count() As Long
> Count = mlCount
> End Property
>
> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
>
> Private Sub Command1_Click()
> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>
> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
>
> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
>
> Print cmp1.Count
> End Sub
>
> Then I got a compile error at:
> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
> Set Item = employees(Index)
> End Property
>
> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
>
> It seems I am missing something.
>
> Please let me know.
>
> Thank you very much.
>
> Regards,
>
> Raj.
>
Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more complete
solution:-
Company:
Private maoEmployees() As Employee
Private mlCount As Long
Public Property Get Count() As Long
Count = mlCount
End Property
Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
End If
mlCount = mlCount + 1
Set AddEmployee = New Employess
Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
End Function
Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
End Public
Private Sub Class_Initialise()
ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
End Sub
Now you populate with:-
Dim cmp1 As New Company
With cmp1.AddEmployee
.deptno = "10"
.empname = "Raj"
End With
With cmp1.AddEmployee
.deptno = "20"
.empname = "Ram"
End With
My question now is why VB6?
Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 23.03.2007 21:03:34 von raj
I am in the making of some component
I appreciate very much your help.
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:OJyqGDUbHHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
>>
>> Here's what I did:
>>
>> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
>>
>> Employee:
>> Public empname As String
>> Public address As String
>> Public salary As Integer
>> Public deptno As Integer
>>
>> Company:
>> Dim employess() As Employee
>> Dim mlCount As Long
>>
>> Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> Count = mlCount
>> End Property
>>
>> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
>>
>> Private Sub Command1_Click()
>> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>>
>> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
>> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
>> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
>>
>> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
>> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
>> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
>>
>> Print cmp1.Count
>> End Sub
>>
>> Then I got a compile error at:
>> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
>> Set Item = employees(Index)
>> End Property
>>
>> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
>>
>> It seems I am missing something.
>>
>> Please let me know.
>>
>> Thank you very much.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Raj.
>>
>
> Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more
> complete
> solution:-
>
> Company:
> Private maoEmployees() As Employee
> Private mlCount As Long
>
> Public Property Get Count() As Long
> Count = mlCount
> End Property
>
> Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
>
> If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
> End If
>
> mlCount = mlCount + 1
>
> Set AddEmployee = New Employess
>
> Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
>
> End Function
>
> Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
> Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
> End Public
>
> Private Sub Class_Initialise()
>
> ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
>
> End Sub
>
> Now you populate with:-
>
> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>
> With cmp1.AddEmployee
> .deptno = "10"
> .empname = "Raj"
> End With
>
> With cmp1.AddEmployee
> .deptno = "20"
> .empname = "Ram"
> End With
>
> My question now is why VB6?
> Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
>
>
>
>
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 23.03.2007 21:54:44 von raj
With cmp1.AddEmployee
.deptno = "20"
.empname = "Ram"
End With
Putting ? cmp1.Count return Subscript out of range error at line:
If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:OJyqGDUbHHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
>>
>> Here's what I did:
>>
>> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
>>
>> Employee:
>> Public empname As String
>> Public address As String
>> Public salary As Integer
>> Public deptno As Integer
>>
>> Company:
>> Dim employess() As Employee
>> Dim mlCount As Long
>>
>> Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> Count = mlCount
>> End Property
>>
>> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
>>
>> Private Sub Command1_Click()
>> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>>
>> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
>> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
>> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
>>
>> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
>> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
>> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
>>
>> Print cmp1.Count
>> End Sub
>>
>> Then I got a compile error at:
>> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
>> Set Item = employees(Index)
>> End Property
>>
>> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
>>
>> It seems I am missing something.
>>
>> Please let me know.
>>
>> Thank you very much.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Raj.
>>
>
> Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more
> complete
> solution:-
>
> Company:
> Private maoEmployees() As Employee
> Private mlCount As Long
>
> Public Property Get Count() As Long
> Count = mlCount
> End Property
>
> Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
>
> If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
> End If
>
> mlCount = mlCount + 1
>
> Set AddEmployee = New Employess
>
> Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
>
> End Function
>
> Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
> Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
> End Public
>
> Private Sub Class_Initialise()
>
> ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
>
> End Sub
>
> Now you populate with:-
>
> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>
> With cmp1.AddEmployee
> .deptno = "10"
> .empname = "Raj"
> End With
>
> With cmp1.AddEmployee
> .deptno = "20"
> .empname = "Ram"
> End With
>
> My question now is why VB6?
> Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
>
>
>
>
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 25.03.2007 18:44:51 von Anthony Jones
"Raj" wrote in message
news:%23GDHyVebHHA.4808@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
> With cmp1.AddEmployee
> .deptno = "20"
> .empname = "Ram"
> End With
>
> Putting ? cmp1.Count return Subscript out of range error at line:
>
> If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
>
You need to fix my spelling mistake; this :-
ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
Should be this:-
ReDim Preserve maoEmployees(mlCount * 2) As Employee
You should also ensure that all your modules start with the line:-
Option Explicit
>
> "Anthony Jones" wrote in message
> news:OJyqGDUbHHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
> >
> > "Raj" wrote in message
> > news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
> >> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
> >>
> >> Here's what I did:
> >>
> >> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
> >>
> >> Employee:
> >> Public empname As String
> >> Public address As String
> >> Public salary As Integer
> >> Public deptno As Integer
> >>
> >> Company:
> >> Dim employess() As Employee
> >> Dim mlCount As Long
> >>
> >> Public Property Get Count() As Long
> >> Count = mlCount
> >> End Property
> >>
> >> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
> >>
> >> Private Sub Command1_Click()
> >> Dim cmp1 As New Company
> >>
> >> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
> >> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
> >> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
> >>
> >> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
> >> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
> >> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
> >>
> >> Print cmp1.Count
> >> End Sub
> >>
> >> Then I got a compile error at:
> >> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
> >> Set Item = employees(Index)
> >> End Property
> >>
> >> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
> >>
> >> It seems I am missing something.
> >>
> >> Please let me know.
> >>
> >> Thank you very much.
> >>
> >> Regards,
> >>
> >> Raj.
> >>
> >
> > Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more
> > complete
> > solution:-
> >
> > Company:
> > Private maoEmployees() As Employee
> > Private mlCount As Long
> >
> > Public Property Get Count() As Long
> > Count = mlCount
> > End Property
> >
> > Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
> >
> > If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
> > ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
> > End If
> >
> > mlCount = mlCount + 1
> >
> > Set AddEmployee = New Employess
> >
> > Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
> >
> > End Function
> >
> > Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
> > Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
> > End Public
> >
> > Private Sub Class_Initialise()
> >
> > ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
> >
> > End Sub
> >
> > Now you populate with:-
> >
> > Dim cmp1 As New Company
> >
> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
> > .deptno = "10"
> > .empname = "Raj"
> > End With
> >
> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
> > .deptno = "20"
> > .empname = "Ram"
> > End With
> >
> > My question now is why VB6?
> > Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 27.03.2007 02:04:10 von raj
I did that already
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:OBFipzvbHHA.4140@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:%23GDHyVebHHA.4808@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>> With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> .deptno = "20"
>> .empname = "Ram"
>> End With
>>
>> Putting ? cmp1.Count return Subscript out of range error at line:
>>
>> If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
>>
>
> You need to fix my spelling mistake; this :-
>
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>
> Should be this:-
>
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployees(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>
> You should also ensure that all your modules start with the line:-
>
> Option Explicit
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>>
>> "Anthony Jones" wrote in message
>> news:OJyqGDUbHHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>> >
>> > "Raj" wrote in message
>> > news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> >> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
>> >>
>> >> Here's what I did:
>> >>
>> >> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
>> >>
>> >> Employee:
>> >> Public empname As String
>> >> Public address As String
>> >> Public salary As Integer
>> >> Public deptno As Integer
>> >>
>> >> Company:
>> >> Dim employess() As Employee
>> >> Dim mlCount As Long
>> >>
>> >> Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> >> Count = mlCount
>> >> End Property
>> >>
>> >> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
>> >>
>> >> Private Sub Command1_Click()
>> >> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>> >>
>> >> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
>> >> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
>> >> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
>> >>
>> >> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
>> >> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
>> >> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
>> >>
>> >> Print cmp1.Count
>> >> End Sub
>> >>
>> >> Then I got a compile error at:
>> >> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
>> >> Set Item = employees(Index)
>> >> End Property
>> >>
>> >> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
>> >>
>> >> It seems I am missing something.
>> >>
>> >> Please let me know.
>> >>
>> >> Thank you very much.
>> >>
>> >> Regards,
>> >>
>> >> Raj.
>> >>
>> >
>> > Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more
>> > complete
>> > solution:-
>> >
>> > Company:
>> > Private maoEmployees() As Employee
>> > Private mlCount As Long
>> >
>> > Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> > Count = mlCount
>> > End Property
>> >
>> > Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
>> >
>> > If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
>> > ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>> > End If
>> >
>> > mlCount = mlCount + 1
>> >
>> > Set AddEmployee = New Employess
>> >
>> > Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
>> >
>> > End Function
>> >
>> > Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
>> > Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
>> > End Public
>> >
>> > Private Sub Class_Initialise()
>> >
>> > ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
>> >
>> > End Sub
>> >
>> > Now you populate with:-
>> >
>> > Dim cmp1 As New Company
>> >
>> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> > .deptno = "10"
>> > .empname = "Raj"
>> > End With
>> >
>> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> > .deptno = "20"
>> > .empname = "Ram"
>> > End With
>> >
>> > My question now is why VB6?
>> > Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 27.03.2007 02:07:05 von raj
It seems the Class_Initialize event of the Company class is never triggered.
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:OBFipzvbHHA.4140@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:%23GDHyVebHHA.4808@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>> With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> .deptno = "20"
>> .empname = "Ram"
>> End With
>>
>> Putting ? cmp1.Count return Subscript out of range error at line:
>>
>> If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
>>
>
> You need to fix my spelling mistake; this :-
>
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>
> Should be this:-
>
> ReDim Preserve maoEmployees(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>
> You should also ensure that all your modules start with the line:-
>
> Option Explicit
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>>
>> "Anthony Jones" wrote in message
>> news:OJyqGDUbHHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>> >
>> > "Raj" wrote in message
>> > news:%23t8blPTbHHA.4772@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> >> Thanx indeed for the valuable input, but I still have problems:
>> >>
>> >> Here's what I did:
>> >>
>> >> Have created a standard exe project with two classes:
>> >>
>> >> Employee:
>> >> Public empname As String
>> >> Public address As String
>> >> Public salary As Integer
>> >> Public deptno As Integer
>> >>
>> >> Company:
>> >> Dim employess() As Employee
>> >> Dim mlCount As Long
>> >>
>> >> Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> >> Count = mlCount
>> >> End Property
>> >>
>> >> I had a form with Command Button. On it's click event I wrote like:
>> >>
>> >> Private Sub Command1_Click()
>> >> Dim cmp1 As New Company
>> >>
>> >> cmp1.Item(1) = New Employee
>> >> cmp1.Item(1).deptno = "10"
>> >> cmp1.Item(1).empname = "Raj"
>> >>
>> >> cmp1.Item(2) = New Employee
>> >> cmp1.Item(2).deptno = "20"
>> >> cmp1.Item(2).empname = "Ram"
>> >>
>> >> Print cmp1.Count
>> >> End Sub
>> >>
>> >> Then I got a compile error at:
>> >> Public Property Get Item(ByVal Index As Long) As Employee
>> >> Set Item = employees(Index)
>> >> End Property
>> >>
>> >> Error Message: Sub or Function not defined.
>> >>
>> >> It seems I am missing something.
>> >>
>> >> Please let me know.
>> >>
>> >> Thank you very much.
>> >>
>> >> Regards,
>> >>
>> >> Raj.
>> >>
>> >
>> > Yeah you spelt employees wrong in the Dim. However here is a more
>> > complete
>> > solution:-
>> >
>> > Company:
>> > Private maoEmployees() As Employee
>> > Private mlCount As Long
>> >
>> > Public Property Get Count() As Long
>> > Count = mlCount
>> > End Property
>> >
>> > Public Function AddEmployee() as Employee
>> >
>> > If mlCount = UBound(maoEmployees) Then
>> > ReDim Preserve maoEmployess(mlCount * 2) As Employee
>> > End If
>> >
>> > mlCount = mlCount + 1
>> >
>> > Set AddEmployee = New Employess
>> >
>> > Set maoEmployees(mlCount) = AddEmployee
>> >
>> > End Function
>> >
>> > Public Function Item(ByVal Index as Long) As Employee
>> > Set Item = maoEmployees(Index)
>> > End Public
>> >
>> > Private Sub Class_Initialise()
>> >
>> > ReDim maoEmployees(16) As Employee
>> >
>> > End Sub
>> >
>> > Now you populate with:-
>> >
>> > Dim cmp1 As New Company
>> >
>> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> > .deptno = "10"
>> > .empname = "Raj"
>> > End With
>> >
>> > With cmp1.AddEmployee
>> > .deptno = "20"
>> > .empname = "Ram"
>> > End With
>> >
>> > My question now is why VB6?
>> > Why not just use VBScripts own Classes etc?
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>
>
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 27.03.2007 15:24:23 von Anthony Jones
"Raj" wrote in message
news:OV8uRvFcHHA.4352@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
> It seems the Class_Initialize event of the Company class is never
triggered.
>
Another spelling error I used the english Class_Initialise.
Your spelling above is correct is that what your code is using?
Re: VB Function to return array to ASP
am 28.03.2007 22:05:11 von raj
That's working fantastically.
Thanx indeed.
"Anthony Jones" wrote in message
news:eRkc9MHcHHA.3584@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>
> "Raj" wrote in message
> news:OV8uRvFcHHA.4352@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>> It seems the Class_Initialize event of the Company class is never
> triggered.
>>
>
> Another spelling error I used the english Class_Initialise.
>
> Your spelling above is correct is that what your code is using?
>
>