Newbie Question - do I have php installed

Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 31.08.2007 20:10:38 von Rabel

I am a beginner to php and our database person told me that I would
have to run some commands on our linux vps before we have php
installed completely but I just did a phpinfo() test and everything
is coming up. But a ftp app that I am working on isnt showing anything
- just a white page. So I am not sure if the problem is somewhere else
or if its because php isnt installed completely. I also ran a
$_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; script and that worked. So is there any
way for me to check to see if its completely uploaded?

Thanks,
Randy

Re: Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 31.08.2007 20:16:46 von ELINTPimp

On Aug 31, 2:10 pm, Rabel wrote:
> I am a beginner to php and our database person told me that I would
> have to run some commands on our linux vps before we have php
> installed completely but I just did a phpinfo() test and everything
> is coming up. But a ftp app that I am working on isnt showing anything
> - just a white page. So I am not sure if the problem is somewhere else
> or if its because php isnt installed completely. I also ran a
> $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; script and that worked. So is there any
> way for me to check to see if its completely uploaded?
>
> Thanks,
> Randy

if phpinfo() is working, then PHP is good. Your DB guy probably means
you might have to recompile PHP to get the db adapter working, but
that's a guess.

Make sure you have error reporting turned on, so you won't get a white
page if a fatal error occurs. Do this and hit refresh before going on
to my next comment:

You need to post some code for us to tell you what is wrong with it. =)

Re: Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 31.08.2007 22:18:11 von Rabel

On Aug 31, 2:16 pm, ELINTPimp wrote:
> On Aug 31, 2:10 pm, Rabel wrote:
>
> > I am a beginner to php and our database person told me that I would
> > have to run some commands on our linux vps before we have php
> > installed completely but I just did a phpinfo() test and everything
> > is coming up. But a ftp app that I am working on isnt showing anything
> > - just a white page. So I am not sure if the problem is somewhere else
> > or if its because php isnt installed completely. I also ran a
> > $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; script and that worked. So is there any
> > way for me to check to see if its completely uploaded?
>
> > Thanks,
> > Randy
>
> if phpinfo() is working, then PHP is good. Your DB guy probably means
> you might have to recompile PHP to get the db adapter working, but
> that's a guess.
>
> Make sure you have error reporting turned on, so you won't get a white
> page if a fatal error occurs. Do this and hit refresh before going on
> to my next comment:
>
> You need to post some code for us to tell you what is wrong with it. =)

thanks pimp - Yeah I do have errors on but still nothing so I have to
go over all the stuff with the ftp developer then to make sure its set
up right. I dont even want to get you involved in that part theres to
much to go over. Thanks again.

Re: Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 31.08.2007 22:48:51 von Courtney

Rabel wrote:
> On Aug 31, 2:16 pm, ELINTPimp wrote:
>> On Aug 31, 2:10 pm, Rabel wrote:
>>
>>> I am a beginner to php and our database person told me that I would
>>> have to run some commands on our linux vps before we have php
>>> installed completely but I just did a phpinfo() test and everything
>>> is coming up. But a ftp app that I am working on isnt showing anything
>>> - just a white page. So I am not sure if the problem is somewhere else
>>> or if its because php isnt installed completely. I also ran a
>>> $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; script and that worked. So is there any
>>> way for me to check to see if its completely uploaded?
>>> Thanks,
>>> Randy
>> if phpinfo() is working, then PHP is good. Your DB guy probably means
>> you might have to recompile PHP to get the db adapter working, but
>> that's a guess.
>>
>> Make sure you have error reporting turned on, so you won't get a white
>> page if a fatal error occurs. Do this and hit refresh before going on
>> to my next comment:
>>
>> You need to post some code for us to tell you what is wrong with it. =)
>
> thanks pimp - Yeah I do have errors on but still nothing so I have to
> go over all the stuff with the ftp developer then to make sure its set
> up right. I dont even want to get you involved in that part theres to
> much to go over. Thanks again.
>
what I don't understand is how you can write an FTP app in php? Or why
you would want to, or what it would be expected to dipslay.

PHP is normally associated with a web server-side scripting system. Not
FTP..

On what is the 'white screen' displayed?

If you are actually truying to get php to work on a broser something like

echo ("Hello world");
?>
saved as e.g. test.php and invoke as http://myserver/test.php should at
least tell you that you have a php enabled web server..

Re: Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 01.09.2007 04:31:13 von luiheidsgoeroe

On Fri, 31 Aug 2007 22:48:51 +0200, The Natural Philosopher wrote:
> what I don't understand is how you can write an FTP app in php?

Perfectly possible

> Or why you would want to,

Normally it's not a great choice indeed.
--
Rik Wasmus

My new ISP's newsserver sucks. Anyone recommend a good one? Paying for
quality is certainly an option.

Re: Newbie Question - do I have php installed

am 10.09.2007 16:41:37 von Rabel

On Aug 31, 4:48 pm, The Natural Philosopher wrote:
> Rabel wrote:
> > On Aug 31, 2:16 pm, ELINTPimp wrote:
> >> On Aug 31, 2:10 pm, Rabel wrote:
>
> >>> I am a beginner to php and our database person told me that I would
> >>> have to run some commands on our linux vps before we have php
> >>> installed completely but I just did a phpinfo() test and everything
> >>> is coming up. But a ftp app that I am working on isnt showing anything
> >>> - just a white page. So I am not sure if the problem is somewhere else
> >>> or if its because php isnt installed completely. I also ran a
> >>> $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; script and that worked. So is there any
> >>> way for me to check to see if its completely uploaded?
> >>> Thanks,
> >>> Randy
> >> if phpinfo() is working, then PHP is good. Your DB guy probably means
> >> you might have to recompile PHP to get the db adapter working, but
> >> that's a guess.
>
> >> Make sure you have error reporting turned on, so you won't get a white
> >> page if a fatal error occurs. Do this and hit refresh before going on
> >> to my next comment:
>
> >> You need to post some code for us to tell you what is wrong with it. =)
>
> > thanks pimp - Yeah I do have errors on but still nothing so I have to
> > go over all the stuff with the ftp developer then to make sure its set
> > up right. I dont even want to get you involved in that part theres to
> > much to go over. Thanks again.
>
> what I don't understand is how you can write an FTP app in php? Or why
> you would want to, or what it would be expected to dipslay.
>
> PHP is normally associated with a web server-side scripting system. Not
> FTP..
>
> On what is the 'white screen' displayed?
>
> If you are actually truying to get php to work on a broser something like
>
> > echo ("Hello world");
> ?>
> saved as e.g. test.php and invoke ashttp://myserver/test.phpshould at
> least tell you that you have a php enabled web server..

If you are actually truying to get php to work on a broser something
like
>
> > echo ("Hello world");
> ?>
> saved as e.g. test.php and invoke ashttp://myserver/test.phpshould at
> least tell you that you have a php enabled web server..


http://mydms.sourceforge.net/